Official Holidays Law – New

Official Holidays Law No. 12 of 2024 issued and Official Holidays Law No. 110 of 1972 was cancelled.

Official holidays in general and religious holidays specific to the Muslim, Christian, Sabian, and Yazidi religions have been determined. The Council of Ministers was given the authority to decide the temporary official holiday for special occasions, provided that it does not exceed (7) days per year, as well as to decide to resume the work on Saturday.

The law empowers the governorates that include the holy cities of Najaf, Karbala, Kadhimiya, and Samarra) the authority to suspend the work in official directorates and institutions on the official religious holidays, before and after the aforementioned holiday, provided that it does not exceed (3) days.